Professor Marcus Hagedorn

Professor Marcus Hagedorn is a Full Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics, University of Oslo, Norway. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of Bonn, Germany and holds a Master’s degree in Mathematics from RWTH Aachen University, Germany. His previous work experience includes faculty and visiting positions at the University of Cologne, the Institute for Higher Studies (Vienna), the University of Pennsylvania, the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and the Institute of Labor Economics (IZA), Bonn.

 

Marcus Hagedorn’s research focuses on applied macroeconomics, labor economics and monetary economics. In particular, he recently deals with big business and household micro data to provide a better understanding of labor market search, matching and sorting as well as unemployment insurance design.

 

Professor Hagedorn’s academic research has been published in leading peer-reviewed journals, such as Econometrica, American Economic Review, Review of Economics Studies. His publications are among the most-cited research in macro/labor economics over the last 10 years.

Prof. Dr. Marcus Hagedorn

Prof. Dr. Marcus Hagedorn ist Full Professor of Economics an der Universität Oslo, Norwegen. Nach Abschluss seines Mathematikstudiums an der RWTH Aachen promovierte er in VWL im European Doctoral Program an der Universität Bonn. Professor Hagedorn hatte Fakultäts- und Forschungspositionen an der Universität Köln, dem Institut für Höhere Studien (IHS) Wien, der University of Pennsylvania, der Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis sowie dem Forschungsinstitut zur Zukunft der Arbeit (IZA) in Bonn inne.

Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der angewandten Makroökonomik mit besonderem Augenmerk auf arbeitsmarkt- und geldpolitischen Themen. Aktuell beschäftigt er sich insbesondere mit Mikrodaten von Haushalten und großen Unternehmen, um ein besseres Verständnis für Arbeitsmarktsuche, -matching und -sortierung, sowie dem optimalen Design von (Arbeitslosen-)Versicherungen zu gewinnen.

Professor Hagedorns akademische Forschung wurde in den führenden VWL-Zeitschriften veröffentlicht, so z.B. in Econometrica, American Economic Review und Review of Economic Studies. Im Bereich Makro- und Arbeitsökonomik gehören seine Publikationen zu den meistzitierten Forschungsergebnissen der letzten 10 Jahre.